thinkspace
Thinkspace Art Gallery
6009 Washington Blvd.
Culver City, CA 90232
(310) 558-3375
| Open Wed. - Sat.
Wed - Fri 1PM-6PM
Sat 1PM-8PM
contact@thinkspacegallery.com  
Subscribe to newsletter:
Thinkspace presents:

"A Cry For Help"
A benefit show for the endangered species of the world presented by Born Free USA & the Animal Protection Institute

Opening Reception: Friday, Jan. 8th   7-11PM
On View:  Jan. 8th, 2009 – Feb. 5th, 2010

*Special animal adoptions during the weekend (Sat, Jan. 9th and Sun, Jan. 10th – 1 to 6PM both days)

20% of all proceeds will be donated to Born Free USA

Born Free USA & Animal Protection Institute
http://www.bornfreeusa.org/

Look for exclusive prints from Amy Sol, Liz McGrath and Buff Monster to be released during the opening reception (more details announced soon)

John Park will be painting live opening night out front our gallery.

We will also have the Little Spoon Desserts Truck out serving up all kinds of delicious goodness from 7-10PM 

Special animal adoptions during the weekend
(Sat, Jan. 9th and Sun, Jan. 10th – 1 to 6PM both days)

Strangest Angels Animal Rescue (dogs and cats) http://strangestangels.org/

Bunny World Foundation (Baby Bunnies Rescue) http://www.bunnyworldfoundation.org/

Life 4 Paws (small dogs)  http://www.life4paws.org/

We will also be accepting donations of old blankets to give to shelters so dogs don’t have to sleep on cold concrete floors as well as old/new pet beds, towels, comforters, treats, toys, leashes, collars and carriers/crates (please bring all you can weekend of Jan. 9th/10th).
http://operationblanketsoflove.org/

This special exhibit will feature an installation from Bumblebee as well as a group show featuring the works of over 100 artists (full list is below).

(Los Angeles, CA) Thinkspace is proud to present "A Cry For Help," a benefit exhibition with the goal of raising awareness about the plight of animals in our modern world. Featuring more than 100 artists who represent every branch of the new contemporary scene, this show has been curated with an eye to representing the unique and innovative attributes of a select group of seasoned veterans and fresh-eyed newcomers from five continents. In keeping with the benefit's mission, each artist will explore different facets of our complicated relationship with the creatures with whom we share this planet.

Though we live in the city, animals exist all around us they sleep in our beds, creep past our windows at night and visit us in our dreams. Symbolizing all that is free, unspoiled and elemental in the world, they also comfort us with guileless affection, amuse us with their playful abandon, and represent us metaphorically in a million works of art and literature. In every niche of the new contemporary scene, artists have employed animals to envisage concepts ranging from the wonder of childhood to the death of nature, while exploiting an ever-widening array of aesthetics, from surreal naturalism to street fables, apocalyptic visions to modern mythology, uncanny allegories to sylvan dreamscapes.

In celebration of the magnificent creatures with whom we share the planet, Thinkspace will donate 20% of the sale price of each piece of art to Born Free USA and the Animal Protection Institute, which operate jointly as a non-profit organization that advocates worldwide for the ethical treatment and protection of animals, and also maintains a large sanctuary for rescued primates. Throughout the month, the gallery will host pet adoptions, slide shows, lectures and more. The world can indeed be changed through random individual acts of kindness, so please don't miss this opportunity to kick off the New Year with a good deed, as well as a great piece of art.

ARTISTS TAKING PART INCLUDE:

Acorn http://www.flickr.com/photos/acornsgrow/
Allison Sommers http://allisonsommers.typepad.com/
Amy Sol http://www.amysol.com
Andrea Offermann http://www.andreaoffermann.com/
Andrew Hem http://www.andrewhem.com/
Angry Woebots http://www.armyofsnipers.com/
Anthony Ausgang http://www.ausgangart.com/
Anthony Clarkson http://www.anthonyclarksonart.com/
Anthony Pontius http://anthonypontius.vox.com/
Apak http://apakstudio.com/apak/
Ashira Siegel http://www.redridinghoodproductions.com/
Ben Strawn http://benstrawn.carbonmade.com/
Bradley Delay http://www.delayart.com/
Buff Monster http://www.buffmonster.com
Bumblebee http://www.flickr.com/photos/theuglyyou
Catherine Brooks http://thearborgeistproject.tumblr.com/
Charlie Immer http://www.charlieimmer.com/
Chet Zar http://www.chetzar.com/
Chris Murray http://www.chrisbmurray.com/
Craig "Skibs" Barker http://www.skibsart.com/
Dabs Myla http://www.dabsmyla.com
Dan May http://dan-may.com/
Dan Quintana http://www.myspace.com/artslinger
Dan-ah Kim http://www.dkim-art.com/
David MacDowell http://www.macdowellstudio.com/
Dennis Hayes IV http://www.dennishayesiv.com/
Derek Ihnat www.derekihnat.wordpress.com
Dolan Geiman http://www.dolangeiman.com/
Edwin Ushiro http://www.mrushiro.com/
Ekundayo http://www.ekunday.com
ELBOW-TOE http://www.elbow-toe.com/
Elisabeth Timpone http://listimpone.blogspot.com/
Eric Nyquist http://www.ericnyquist.com/
Erik Siador http://www.eriksiador.com/
Faith 47 http://www.faith47.com/
Fred Harper http://www.fredharper.com/
Gaia http://gaiastreetart.com/
Genevivie Zacconi http://www.genevive.com/
Germs http://www.germs4u.com/
Ghostpatrol http://ghostpatrol.net/
Guy McKinley http://www.flickr.com/photos/guymckinley
Heiko Mueller  http://www.heikomueller.de/
Imminent Disaster http://www.flickr.com/photos/disasterstrikes/
J. Shea (#9) http://jshea9blog.blogspot.com/
Jacub Gagnon http://www.jacubgagnon.com/
Janet Grey http://www.greymattersphotos.com
Jason Limon http://www.limon-art.com/
Jason Thielke http://www.jasonthielke.com/
Jen Lobo http://jenlobo.com/
Jennybird Alcantara http://www.jennybirdart.com/
Jesse Hotchkiss http://www.jessehotchkiss.com/
Jim Darling http://www.jimdarling.com/?id=206
Joao Ruas  http://souvlaki.jp-ar.org/
John Park 
Johnny 'KMNDZ' Rodriguez http://www.kmndz.com/
Joseph McSween (aka 2H) http://www.myspace.com/2hatred
Joshua Mays http://soldren.com/content/
Josie Morway http://www.josiemorway.com/
Justin Gibbens http://www.justingibbens.com/
Katelyn Alain http://www.katelynalain.com/
Kathleen Lolley http://www.lolleyland.com/
Kelly McKernan http://kellymckernan.com/
Kelly Vivanco http://www.kellyvivanco.com/
Kevin Earl Taylor http://www.kevinearltaylor.com/
Kevin Titzer http://www.kevintitzer.com/
Kris Lewis http://www.krislewisart.com/
Leontine Greenberg http://leontinemay.com/
Lesley Reppeteaux http://www.reppeteaux.com/
Liz Brizzi http://www.lizbrizzi.com/
Liz McGrath http://www.elizabethmcgrath.com/
Luke Kopycinski http://koppa.carbonmade.com/
Mari Inukai http://www.mariinukai.com/
Martin Wittfooth http://www.martinwittfooth.com/
Mear One http://www.mearone.com/
Michael Pukac http://www.michaelpukac.com/
Mike Brown http://www.myspace.com/funpig
Moki http://www.mioke.de/
Molly Crabapple http://www.mollycrabapple.com/
Nathan DeYoung http://www.nathandeyoung.com/
Nimit Malavia http://www.nimitmalavia.com/
Nouar http://www.noirnouar.com/
Paul Barnes http://www.paul-barnes.com/
Peter Taylor http://www.handmadefeat.com/
Raquel Aparicio http://www.raquelissima.com/
Rebecca Hahn http://rebeccahahn.com/
Renee French http://reneefrench.blogspot.com/
Riddle www.riddleriddle.com
Rob Sato http://www.robsato.com/index.html
Rory Kurtz http://www.rorykurtzillustration.com/
Sarah Joncas http://www.teapartylove.digitalinkz.com/
Scott Belcastro http://www.scottbelcastro.com/
Scott G. Brooks  http://www.scottgbrooks.com/
Scott Radke http://www.scottradke.com/
Tadaomi Shibuya http://www.tadaomishibuya.com/
Tessar Lo http://www.tessarlo.com/
Timothy Karpinski http://timothykarpinski.com/
Tina Darling http://tinadarling.com/?id=206
Tran Nguyen http://www.trannguyen.org/
Travis Louie http://www.travislouie.com/
Turf One http://www.turfizm.com/site-fl.html
Van Arno http://www.vanarno.com/
Wesley Burt http://www.wesleyburt.com/
Yoskay Yamamoto http://yoskay.com/
Yosuke Ueno http://www.spaceegg77.com/

 

Born Free USA
http://www.bornfreeusa.org/

Born Free USA is a national animal advocacy nonprofit 501(c)(3) organization, contributions to which are tax-deductible. Born Free’s mission is to end the suffering of wild animals in captivity, rescue individual animals in need, protect wildlife — including highly endangered species — in their natural habitats, and encourage compassionate conservation globally. Every year, millions of animals suffer in fur farms and circus cages. In our campaigns against such cruelties, we use powerful tools including legislation, public education, litigation, and grassroots networking. We also work actively with media to spread the word about challenges facing animals.

The Born Free Foundation was initiated in England in 1984 by Bill Travers and Virginia McKenna, the stars of the legendary film Born Free, along with their son Will. Having been deeply influenced by their time spent in Kenya, Bill and Virginia were inspired to act after the tragic and untimely death of Pole Pole, an elephant featured in the film An Elephant Called Slowly, who was sent to the London Zoo from the Government of Kenya after the making of the film.

In the subsequent two decades, Born Free has become an international force in wildlife conservation and animal protection, campaigning to save elephants, big cats, wolves, dolphins, bears, primates, and numerous other species. Born Free upholds a dynamic presence in international animal rescues, saving animals from miserable conditions, rehabilitating them, and either providing for their lifetime care in a sanctuary or, whenever possible, rehoming them to the wild. A companion organization was established in the United States in 2002, Born Free USA, to carry on the work of the organization, involving the American public in our compassionate conservation campaigns. Born Free USA launched with a national office in Washington, DC.

Born Free is committed to spreading its brand of compassionate conservation across America and, indeed, across the globe. Our shared institutional mission is to alleviate animal suffering, protect threatened and endangered species in the wild, and encourage everyone to treat wildlife everywhere with respect and compassion.


Animal Protection Institute

Co-founded in 1968 by Belton Mouras and Ken Guerrero, the Animal Protection Institute (API) was one of just a handful of national humane organizations in existence. The early years were lean for API and the organization made good use of free media such as radio PSAs to get the word out about its mission to protect animals. These PSAs contributed greatly to name recognition, generated an enormous amount of requests for additional information, and aided in fundraising efforts. By 1971, API was producing what became the annual Forum conference in cities across the country that featured keynote speakers instrumental to the growth of the animal welfare movement as well as promoting and publicizing the works of fellow animal organizations.

API was a forerunner in protesting the clubbing of the harp seals in Canada. Through constant petitions, API helped bring the Canadian government to an awareness of the tremendous international outcry against this barbarity. It was obvious that API was winning when in 1977 two staff members were briefly arrested for getting near enough to the seal hunt to photograph the skinning of live seals, a practice previously disputed.

Other well-known campaigns included our work on a federal anti-trapping bill as well as our work with Velma B. ("Wild Horse Annie") Johnston. Velma had been championing the rights of wild horses for nearly twenty years when API named her as its Advisor for Mustangs and Burros. API gladly helped finance her fight, and the early Mainstreams (as Animal Issues was then called) are filled with inspiring stories of her ongoing struggle. Velma passed away in 1977 (just when
she had accepted nomination to API's Board of Directors). API continued to fight for the kind of cause she believed in, although its focus moved to other issues.

That front-line visibility diminished somewhat in the 1980s as the API moved more discreetly into the background, choosing to focus on educating people through campaigns and publications. API did not rest on its past victories. To paraphrase Thomas Jefferson, the price of animal freedom is eternal vigilance. Some battles have to be fought over and over again, even after they've been won. And so API returned to the front lines, taking a leading role in the struggle for animal rights.

On January 1, 2000, the Texas Snow Monkey Sanctuary merged into the API family, to be renamed the API Primate Sanctuary in June 2003 and now called the Born Free USA Primate Sanctuary. Located about 90 miles south of San Antonio, Texas, the Born Free USA Primate Sanctuary provides a truly free-range environment with minimal human interference for more than 500 rescued macaques, vervets, and baboons.

Forty years of fighting animal abuse and exploitation have given us tools that work. Whether we use the courts, the legislatures, the ballot box ... engage our nationwide team of grassroots activists at the community level ... work closely with individual advocates ... form coalitions with other national or state animal advocacy groups ... or use our position as a major media resource to focus national attention on the abuse of animals anywhere and everywhere ... we continue to get the job done.

Copyright © 2005-2012 by Thinkspace Gallery. Web Development by Kussner.     Website Hosted by Media Temple.